One World, One Dream

post-img

The evolution of our societies has always been influenced by the economy. However, on bills and coins, the cultural aspect dominates the economy and every country, until these days, always represented historic elements so asserting its cultural identity while integrating the economic evolution into its history.
Today, the economy plays an even more dominating role in our societies. Through the so-called culture of  “entertainment”, it shapes our cultural environment and intensifies the process of globalization.

In 2002, as a result of the first monetary union (the EEC: the european economic union), a new currency, the EURO ( € ) was created. The member countries of this union, although neighbors, all have their own cultural references partly formed by the numerous conflicts they had between each other in their histories. As a result of that, no historical reference is represented on this new currency. Nowadays, the economy affirms its place as the unique guarantee for maintaining peace between people, relegating history and cultural background to be merely considered as nationalistic symbols. However, as the economical crisis has more and more fatal consequences on the daily life of individuals,these individuals, rightly or wrongly, turn towards their historical roots  by fear or nostalgia, thus creating numerous tensions between the populations of the member countries.

Our series ” One World, One Dream “, presents several  contemporary currencies. We customized them in a  pop-art spirit, the symbol of the entertainment culture which promises everyone “his or her 15 minutes of celebrity”.
We also used some characters of Chinpu. The Chinpu is a notation system used to transcribe the musical scores for the Guqin, an ancient Chinese musical instrument and one of the most ancient musical instruments of the world. In the context of our project, through music, the most universal language, we express the following thoughts :  mankind should have enough wisdom to find solutions in order to regain control over the economy and overcome the negative consequences of globalization.
To learn from the past while being concerned for the future, to have knowledge of one’s own origin in order to anticipate this future, this is the message of the exhibition ” One World, One Dream “.

 

Etienne de La Boetie explains: ” It is surprising – and nevertheless so common that it’s far better to moan about it than to be stunned by it – to see a million people, miserably  under the yoke of slavery not because they are forced into this condition, but because they are fascinated and so to speak enchanted. ”

 

Leave a reply

Message

Name

Website

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

One World, One Dream

post-img

L’économie a toujours influencé l’évolution de nos sociétés. Pour autant, sur les billets et pièces de monnaie, l’aspect culturel domine l’économie et chaque pays, jusqu’à ce jour, a toujours représenté des éléments historiques affirmant ainsi son identité culturelle tout en intégrant l’évolution économique à son histoire.
Aujourd’hui, l’économie a pris une place prépondérante dans nos sociétés. C’est l’économie qui au travers de la culture dite du « divertissement », façonne le culturel, intensifiant ainsi le processus de globalisation.

In 2002, suite à la première union monétaire (Union Econimique Européenne), est née une nouvelle monnaie l’EURO (€). Les pays membres de cette union, bien que voisins, possèdent des références culturelles différentes soulignées par de nombreux conflits au cours de leurs histoires respectives. C’est pourquoi, sur cette nouvelle monnaie, aucune référence historique n’est représentée. En réalité, l’économie affirme sa place comme la garantie unique du maintient de la paix entre les peuples, reléguant simplement l’histoire et l’environnement culturel comme symboles de nationalisme. Cependant, tandis que la crise économique a de plus en plus de conséquences fatales sur les individus et leur vie quotidienne, ceux-ci, par crainte ou par nostalgie, à tort ou à raison, se tournent vers leurs racines historiques créant ainsi de nombreuses tensions entre les peuples des pays membres.

Notre série  » One World, One Dream « , présente différentes monnaies contemporaines. Ces monnaies sont customisées dans un esprit pop-art symbole du divertissement qui promet à chacun son quart d’heure de célébrité.
Des caractères de Chinpu sont également visibles. Le chinpu est le système de notation utilisé pour transcrire des partitions de musique pour le Guqin; le Guqin est un des plus vieux instruments de musique chinois et par conséquent un des plus vieux instruments de musique au monde. Dans ce contexte, la musique, langage universel, exprime que l’humanité doit avoir assez de sagesse pour trouver des solutions afin de reprendre le contrôle sur l’économie et pallier aux conséquences négatives de la globalisation. Apprendre du passé en étant soucieux de l’avenir, connaitre ses origines pour savoir gérer son future, tel est le message de l’exposition « One World, One Dream ».

 

«Chose vraiment étonnante — et pourtant si commune qu’il faut plutôt en gémir que s’en ébahir — de voir un million d’hommes misèrablement asservis, la tête sous le joug, non qu’ils y soient contraints par une force majeure, mais parce qu’ils sont fascinés et pour ainsi dire ensorcelés.»
ÉTIENNE DE LA BOÉTIE

 

Laisser un commentaire ou un avis

Message

Nom

Site Web